Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Do I need a VISA?

Pässe mit verschiedenen Visa

Pässe mit verschiedenen Visa, © Colourbox

03.02.2020 - Artikel

Here you can check it

  • A visa is not required for citizens of the European Union who wish to travel, stay or work in the Federal Republic of Germany. This rule also applies for nationals of Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland. However, these citizens have to be able to identify themselves at all times during their stay in Germany with the aid of a valid passport.
  • Special rules exist for citizens of Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea and the US. These citizens may travel and stay in Germany without the necessity of a visa. If they intend to work in Germany, they can apply for a residence permit from within Germany. The request has to be submitted within 90 days after the entry and before the employment is taken up.
  • Third-country nationals who are in possession of a national residence permit issued by a Schengen country are allowed to travel to Germany for up to 90 days per 180-day period, as long as the duration of the stay does not exceed the permit’s validity period. This rule also applies to the holders of a national visa (category „D“ visa) issued by a Schengen country. However, if these citizens aim to work in Germany, they need to apply for a visa in advance at the competent German mission.
  • For all other third-country nationals who wish to enter Germany and who are not in possession of a national residence permit issued by a Schengen country or who would like to stay in Germany for more than 90 days (e.g. family reunion, employment, studies etc.) a visa is mandatory.

Go back to Application for a German residence Permit

nach oben